Facing a Fear & Finally Getting a Blood Test

16788285_10202992184643010_915417527_n-1

3 holes in my arms and 1 on my hand later they successfully got some blood out of me. Who would’ve known that I have the shyest of veins around. It’s been about 10 years (if not more) since I let a nurse stick a needle into me to get blood. Why? I have the biggest fear ever of needles. Sitting here writing this feels fricking good to have broken it. Who knows if I really have broken the fear but i’m just feeling good that it’s over.

I would like to say as a 20 year old young women I did pretty well. But honestly I cried every time the needle was inside me (probably from shock). It’s so strange how our body chooses to react to certain obstacles that we have to face in life. My fear of needles became a pretty active fear at the age of 9 years when we had to get 3 shots at school. Truth be told I passed out at most of them and had to go to the doctors for the last one. It was truly horrible and I remember being 12 and getting my second set of injections and having to be held down. Honestly hate it so much and I wish i wasn’t such a wuss with it and could just be chilled.

I know i’m entirely not alone with this fear and that’s kinda neat bonding with people over our fainting stories and hate of a needle piercing through our skin. Yesterday 14th February was my first attempt at getting my bloods done. Highly unsuccessful due to lack of hydration but really just having naughty veins and problematic circulation. I’m so grateful that I don’t have to go back a third time tomorrow (at that point i’m sure I would faint).

The reality of the situation was I overhyped something that was actually pretty minimal pain. Despite the fact they used the needle that they use on babies (lol) it was relatively low pain. I think my pyschology pain, anxiety and stress around it was so much higher then the physical pain could or would ever be. So I guess looking forward, just go forward with your fears because chances are it’s not gonna be anywhere near as bad!

Another point to make is that blood tests aren’t as bad as tattoos. I don’t know how I sit through the pain of a tattoo with ease but in medical situations I wouldn’t enjoy a needle being near me. I guess because I love the art that tattoos are and the studios aren’t intimidating at all.

Question of the Day is what are your fears & are you going to try face them in 2017?

 

About writingforart

20 // anthropology & media major. i love writing, usually poetry, songs and short personal tellings in the form of books. i enjoy event and travel photography. but particularly love telling stories and thoughts.
This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facing a Fear & Finally Getting a Blood Test

  1. Good on you for facing your fear! I know a few people who are really scared of needles, so I know how stressful it can be for someone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for commenting such nice words (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

