Being the Paper Girl for a Day

Recently I signed up to do my local paper round. It was quite the journey yesterday when the papers arrived at like 9:30am. Not gonna lie I didn’t cope very well with folding and delivering about 235 papers. Big shoutout to those people who did it for more than a one off.

Here’s a little path of photos to explain how the day went.

img_7718

Firstly you had to fold the papers which took about 40 minutes and bag them. Then map your journey to make it easier for yourself. Make sure you take your jacket and wear your comfiest of shoes. Personally I think the playlist you make for your time delivering papers is very important and will help push you in the last few houses so go hard on that.

img_7721

This is route two that I had to do & all the newspapers nicely folded by my helpful flatmate and put into enviro bags for the most convenient of use.

img_7720

One of the most rewarding parts of it was making local pet friends. This is a very sweet cat who literally walked with me down the road.  A great new friend that I loved meeting. Along the way I also meet the cutest dog and quite a few friendly neighbours so that was a neat opportunity to actually talk to people who I live near.

img_7722

Another great joy of le paper run is that the fresh ink printed comes off on your hands and you have to wash them like 6 times. To be honest they are still tinged black but that’s alright.

All in all it was quite the experience! I do wonder how children do this when they are younger but I guess one has more energy and help to do it.

Unfortunately due to the amount of time it takes to do the rounds and my bad circulated fingers I will not be continuing the paper round. But I have a new found insight on those who have to deliver papers or letters. You deserve a raise my friend!

 

About writingforart

20 // anthropology & media major. i love writing, usually poetry, songs and short personal tellings in the form of books. i enjoy event and travel photography. but particularly love telling stories and thoughts.
This entry was posted in thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

