Why I prefer ChCh over Wellington!

 
13512115_10202010337017433_7126251065238691844_nIt’s hard to begin writing this because I have wanted to write this for a fair while. I also have a lot of points I want to make that are quite personal and I don’t want it to be misinterpreted. So here I go!

In 2014 I moved to Christchurch to begin study at the University of Canterbury. There was no doubt that I was over excited to move islands, cities and for just complete newness! I had one friend in Christchurch before I moved (my pal Maddy) and I honestly think that plays into a big part of why I love Chch. It was a new place for me and I had the opportunity to be whoever I wanted to be. A new slate and new beginnings. No doubt the year before was the worst and hardest year of my life. I lost my mum to cancer and getting to be surrounded by a new space and energy was something I needed.

Okay, so this is my big main reason why I love Christchurch hold up, it’s probably different to what you think it will be haha. Yes, the flatting is cheaper and the city is generally a heck load more chiller but i’m so mentally connected to this place.

As soon as I visited the city for the first time I felt a connection and through the past 2 and a half years of living here i’ve grown to know why. I moved to a broken city when I was super broken and through the years i’ve been able to build and grow with the city. Lots of people talk down Christchurch and yes there is a heck load more of the rebuild to do and the Christchurch community hasn’t fully been given the greatness they have deserved in response to the earthquakes all those years ago. Many people still live in the lows mentally and physically from the quakes and it honestly sucks.

But from a young adult, university student perspective I think Christchurch youth are pretty neat! They are resilient and strong the communities here are amazing. The markets here are beautiful the Riccarton bush one is my favourite and the sunday racecourse one is so great.

Buses here are so cheap! You pay like $5 a day on your metro card for UNLIMITED travel so you can hop on a bus like x10 in one day. Whereas being from the Hutt Valley in wellington it costs like $14 a day on train for me which is super expensive and makes me want to cry when I go home.

Christchurch is the perfect size in terms of distance from the city to anywhere. I don’t drive but you can literally drive for half an hour and be somewhere completely different and in such a different vibe. Also it’s on the flat yay for flat surface! No, but honestly the city of Christchurch central is beautiful and amazing and it is also a great treat getting to go in.

I love the art and music scene here! It’s pretty great and I always feel safe in Christchurch going to gigs alone. Not to mention Christchurch gets the best concerts! I’ve been to Imagine Dragons, Maroon 5, Troye Sivan, Broods and many more here and I love it.

In saying all of this I lived in Wellington for about 17 years and it has my heart. I’m saddened by the recent quakes and I have so much of my life and memories there. I also hold my best friendships there from high school and early twitter life. I love the cafes there although I absolutely ADORE the cafe scene in Christchurch and I love Wellington city particularly the library haha.

In honesty though I love Christchurch and people should give it a good chance before they knock it down. If you ever want me to talk about anything Christchurch talk talk to me cause I will speak for days about it.

Here is a photo of my flat views also.

img_4516

If you ever want me to do a part 2 or anything more in depth tell me! Comment below

About writingforart

20 // anthropology & media major. i love writing, usually poetry, songs and short personal tellings in the form of books. i enjoy event and travel photography. but particularly love telling stories and thoughts.
This entry was posted in things i love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I prefer ChCh over Wellington!

  1. Loz says:

    This has definitely highlighted great things about Christchurch I often forget. I guess I have the opposite perspective having grown up here, moving to Wellington was so exciting and vibrant three years after the quake where not a lot had happened here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. allingoodcompany says:

    Heather I am so glad I took the time to have a read of your blog. I can totally relate to this. I am currently, and have been for the last two years having a love affair between Auckland & Wellington. One has my heart the other has my residency and post code. Keep writing chick! Love your work.

    Jo x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I might be moving to auckland next year so i’m excited and nervous for that. Thanks so much for this comment though (:

    Liked by 1 person

  4. allingoodcompany says:

    Heather, that’s amazing ! Let me know if you do and I will bring you baked goods and a welcome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aw thank you, you’re so sweet! This is so nice (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

