How I spent Christmas

2016 has been a weird one to say the least. The fact i’ve made it to Christmas feels somewhat of a miracle and my decision to spend it mostly alone was an interesting one. Lucky enough for me my great friend Maddy who lives super close by invited me over for a festive breakfast with her fam (inserted a photo below) . This basically started my day so well but leading on from it was kind of a slow one. I set out to skype my family in Auckland, watch films and listen to festive music whilst mucking about going about my day.

15713241_10202763872415347_960315503_n

The rest of the day wasn’t so smooth for me emotionally… Spending Christmas alone when you face mental illness is a little bit of an interesting one. I got heaps of Christmas messages from all around New Zealand and i’m so grateful for my friends. I’m an over an emotive person so a little snapchat video from my Auckland fam + fam saying Merry Christmas to me got my tears screaming so fast. But I recovered and had a pretty good one.

Below is a photo I took when Skype froze of my hipster funny greatness brother, he’s a funny one and we get along pretty darn well for an 8 year age gap.

15731339_10202763872495349_1349856385_n

Furthermore I basically spent my entire day singing to myself, being hooked on social media happenings and watching love actually. Honestly it was not a bad one, but didn’t feel particularly festive. I love my family though and I have pledged to myself to not let another opportunity to see them pass. They’re a funny bunch and I love them super greatly. Oh yes, I have yet to mention my large amount of chocolate eating. This can be summed up by my skirt in the washing box that has chocolate melted all over it opps (i’m a messy eater).

15731270_10202763872695354_843511489_n

Conclusively though, make the most of friends and family on festive and celebratory days and don’t hook yourself into social media and comparisons! People care and are there for you and that matters. Don’t take your family and opportunities for granted, but also don’t be worried about being away. I feel like I am super ready for moving overseas and being alone but also fear a little. Either way hope you had a lovely day and that this can ensure you that Christmas can be pretty alright alone!

About writingforart

20 // anthropology & media major. i love writing, usually poetry, songs and short personal tellings in the form of books. i enjoy event and travel photography. but particularly love telling stories and thoughts.
This entry was posted in things i love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

